Esther Cronin – a microcelebrity who talks about her experience on Instagram.

Esther Cronin is a 21-year-old model who definitely feels the ongoing pressures and tensions on Instagram. Yesterday, I had a chat with her about how it affects her life and her self-esteem.Teenage girlhood is the worst. The theme park of emotions. The awkwardness. Everyone tells you that the world doesn’t revolve around you but OMG what do they know?… nothing obviously! You’re life

She told me truthfully:Teenage girlhood is the worst. The theme park of emotions. The awkwardness. Everyone tells you that the world doesn’t revolve around you but OMG what do they know?… nothing obviously! You’re life

Teenage girlhood is the worst. The theme park of emotions. The awkwardness. Everyone tells you that the world doesn’t revolve around you but OMG what do they know?… nothing obviously! You’re life

“Teenage girlhood is the worst. The theme park of emotions. The awkwardness. Everyone tells you that the world doesn’t revolve around you but OMG what do they know?… nothing obviously! You’re life actually, SUCKS — What does everyone think of you? How come you can’t be like her? Who even are you? …

Gah thank God I’m on the other side of 20 now and my hormones have pretty much got their shit together.. and I didn’t even have Instagram, like kids these days. Not only was there no such thing as #thighgap, #abcrack, #enfleek or Kylie Jenner lips but also I didn’t sit there measuring my value by how many likes I was getting and comparing what I looked like to an infinite network of micro-celebrities.

#ThisIsMe is a fantastic raising awareness around beauty and how you present yourself online to little girls. I now feel a lot more conscious of the fact that what I say and the way I depict myself online might have an adverse effect on a fourteen-year-old girl.

fullsizerender

Leave a Reply

